The James White Award is pleased to announce the judges for this year’s competition:

Aliette de Bodard

Aliette de Bodard is a former winner of the Writers of the Future competition, won the 2010 BSFA Award for Short Fiction with her story “The Shipmaker” and has Hugo, Nebula and John W Campbell award nominations to her credit. She is one of SF’s most exciting new writers and her Obsidian and Blood trilogy of novels, published by Angry Robot, has been highly praised.

Ian McDonald

Ian McDonald first novel, Desolation Road, was published in 1989 and he has gone on to become one of the genre’s most successful and highest profile authors. He has won three BSFA Awards for best novel (2004, 2007 and 2011), a Hugo for his novelette The Djinn’s Wife, the 2011 John W Campbell award for the novel The Dervish House. He was first a judge of the James White Award in 2002 and the administrators are delighted to welcome him back.

Interzone editors

Andy Cox and Andrew Hedgecock publish Interzone, the UK’s longest running and most prestigious science fiction magazine. Interzone has been a long-term supporter of the James White Award, publishing the winning story each year and providing publicity for the competition.


The James White Award is currently open to submissions until 16 December 2012. The winner will be announced at the BSFA Award Ceremony at Eastercon 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *