Welcome to the home of the James White Award Short Story Competition.

The James White Award is currently open to entries.

The James White Award is an annual short story competition open to non-professional writers with the winner chosen by a panel of judges made up of professional authors and editors. Stories entered into the competition must be original and previously unpublished. Entry is free.

The James White Award was instituted to honour the memory of one of Ireland’s most successful science fiction authors, James White. To learn more about James White and his writing, visit www.sectorgeneral.com.

Please note:

  • The James White Award only accepts entries via the online form on this website.
  • Stories must be between 1000 and 6000 words long.
  • Stories are judged anonymously. We do not offer critiques or feedback on stories.

The deadline for the 2018 competition is midnight (GMT) on Friday 27 April 2018 and the winner will be announced in July 2018, date to be confirmed.

Please read the rules before entering the competition.

The James White Award now only accepts online entries made using the form on our How To Enter page.


Comments are closed.