The James White Award is delighted to announce that the judges for the 2019 compeition: Justina Robson, Chris Beckett and Donna Scott.

The competition closes to entries tonight (Friday 28 June at midnight BST). We aim to announce this year’s winning story in August. Check back for further announcements.

Justina Robson’s distinctive approach to science fiction has established her as an important voice in the genre acclaimed first novel, Silver Screen, was published in 1999. Since then she has published twelve novels (including five in the fast-paced Quantum Gravity series) and a short story collection, Heliotrope. She has been nominated four-times for the BSFA Award (most recently for 2015’s Glorious Angels) and three times for the Philip K Dick Award. Her most recent novel, Salvation’s Fire, was her first published fantasy novel but she will return to sf with her next book, Hell’s Ditch – a sequel to Glorious Angels. Her website is www.justinarobson.co.uk and she tweets as @JustinaRobson

Chris Beckett has been publishing short fiction since 1990 and has three short fiction collections, Spring Tide (2018), The Peacock Cloak (2013) and 2008’s Edge Hill Prize winning The Turing Test. As well as five text books on social work he has published seven novels since The Holy Machine (2004) including the Eden trilogy (which began with 2012’s Arthur C Clarke winner, Dark Eden) and this year’s Beneath The World A Sea. He specialises in placing troubled characters in strangely unsettling environments – whether on distant planets or English housing estates. His website is www.chrisbeckett.com and tweets as @chriszbeckett

Donna Scott is (amongst other things) a writer, editor, poet and stand-up comedian. Since 2016 she’s been the editor of the annual Best of British Science Fiction anthology from Newcon Press, was editor of Visionary Tongue magazine and the editor of Alan Moore’s vast (1200 pages) novel Jerusalem. She has been widely published as a short story author and works a live storyteller. From 2009 until 2013 she was the administrator of the British Science Fiction Association’s awards and she was the chair of the BSFA from 2013 until this year. Her website is www.donna-scott.co.uk and she tweets as @wishusdonna


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *