The James White Award is pleased to announce the shortlisted stories for this year’s competition.

  • Ideas Machine, Suffolk Street
  • Midnight Funk Association
  • The Relics of the All Legend
  • The Simple 12-Step Solution to the 3×3 Hypercube in Minkowski Spacetime
  • White Fur

As usual with the James White Award, we judge the stories anonymously – so while the judging process is going on we do not release the names of the authors.

If you submitted a story that is not listed here you should consider it released for submission elsewhere.

We apologise for the delay in making the announcement this year. We received 255 entries this year, but an unusual number (almost 75%) arrived in the last two weeks before the deadline and it therefore took us longer to reach the final shortlist than we hoped. Thank you to the authors who submitted for their patience and to our readers for working through the submissions as fast as they could.

Due to this delay, it is unlikely that we will be able to announce the winner at Eastercon as originally planned but we will make the announcement as soon as possible – we hope to be able to do that within the week.



The shortlist is currently being judged by our panel of professional authors.

Dave Hutchinson is from Sheffield but now lives in North London and is an experienced journalist. He has published five short story collections and two novels. His novella, The Push, was nominated for the 2010 BSFA Awards for Short Fiction and his latest novel, Europe in Autumn, has been shortlisted in this year’s long form category. A companion novel and a new short story collection are both on their way.


Gareth L Powell is the Bristol-based author of The Recollection, Silversands and three volumes chronicling the adventures of a foul-mouthed, cigar-chomping, Spitfire-flying monkey – the first book in the series, Ack-Ack Macaque, won the 2013 BSFA Award for best novel. His short fiction has appeared in Interzone, numerous anthologies and ‘Red Lights And Rain’ was included in 2014s The Year’s Best Science Fiction edited by Gardner Dozois.



Born in Jamaica, educated in America and now living in London, Stephanie Saulter is the author of the ®Evolution trilogy – the first two volumes (Gemsigns and Binary) have been published to considerable acclaim and the third, Regeneration, is due in July. She has worked in a diverse range of roles, including a real estate developer, restaurant manager and management consultant and she founded the writing website Scriptopus.



We know from previous experience that many of you are interested in judging process.

This is the list of stories that made it through the first round of reading onto our longlist.

A Little Detour Through Spacetime; A Momentary Lapse of Reason; An App For Life; Antarctica; Barren Witness; Error; ; Ideas Machine, Suffolk Street; Jupiter Grass; Machines in Motion; Meteorite; Midnight Funk Association; Northern Cross; Of Mothers, and daughters, and gods; Relics of the All-Legend; Rising Cold; Rubidium Rain; The Long Con; The Mirror of the Moons; The Object; The Price of Happiness; The Simple 12-Step Solution to the 3×3 Hypercube in Minkowski Spacetime; The Sun Must Rise; The Tick-Tock Kid; The View From Driftwise Spindle; The Walls of the Tithonium Chasma; Honey Hair; White Fur; Written in the Sand


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *