The James White Award is pleased to announce the panel of authors who will select the winner of the 2018 James White Award.

Our judges are:

Anne Charnock’s novella, The Enclave, won this year’s British Science Fiction Association Award for best short fiction, her Dreams Before the Start of Time is (our) favourite for the 2018 Arthur C Clarke Award (and was nominated for the BSFA Best Novel) and A Calculated Life was shortlisted for the Kitchies Golden Tentacle and Philip K Dick award. 2015’s Sleeping Embers of an Ordinary Mind may not have been nominated for awards, but it’s a wonderful novel. She is a journalist and former foreign correspondent. She tweets as @annecharnock and you can find out more about her at http://annecharnock.com

The author of the fantastic The Wounded Kingdom trilogy, stories of the assassin Girton Club-Foot, his books have been widely praised and nominated for Kitschies Golden Tentacle, Gemmell and British Fantasy (best novel and best newcomer) awards. Having given up on the life of a rockstar, RJ lives in Leeds and (amongst other things) he reveals his (often disturbing) fascination with antlers in his tweets as @dedbutdrmng – you can read more about him and his work on his website: http://www.rjbarker.com

Probably best known for her novels published in the Star Trek and Dr Who universes, Dr. Una McCormack is a lecturer in creative writing at Anglia Ruskin University. Her 2013 Star Trek novel The Fall: The Crimson Shadow was a New York Times bestseller. Recently she has published two exciting space operas set in the Weird Space universe – The Baba Yaga (with Eric Brown) and The Star And The Sea and an excellent novella The Greatest Story Ever Told has just been published by NewCon Press. She has also written numerous audio dramas for Big Finish in the Dr Who and Blake’s 7 universes. Follow her online on Twitter @unamccormack.

The shortlisted stories will be announced soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *