We are pleased to be able to announce the final shortlist for this year’s James White Award. The six stories, selected from over 300 entrants, are:

A Sip of Pombe
Gustavo Bondoni

Matthew Eeles

Ms. Höffern Stays Abreast of the News
Sarah Pauling

My Fault
Sarah Palmer

The Big I Am
E.M Faulds

Two Worlds Apart
Dustin Blair Steinacker

The winner will be announced on Thursday, 2 August at 17:00 BST.

Competition administrator Martin McGrath said: “As always, we’re are grateful to those who read all the submissions and helped us get to the stage of preparing the shortlist and to the BSFA and Interzone for their support. We’d also like to thank everyone who submitted a story – the competition continues to attract a high degree of interest and that is very gratifying. The process of whittling the entrants down to the final list was not easy and all those who have reached this stage have overcome some very strong opposition. Our judges, RJ Barker, Anne Charnock and Una McCormack will now consider the shortlist and the winner will be announced soon.”

Thank you to all the entrants for their patience waiting for the results of the judging. All submitted stories not on the final shortlist should be considered free to be submitted elsewhere.

1 thought on “2018 SHORTLIST ANNOUNCED

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *